Dropbox This Folder Can Only Be Shared As A Link

Posted onby admin

Hey @coreymacintosh, thanks for joining the Dropbox Community! I'm afraid, if they sent you a shared link to a folder, you can only view the content and download it, but you can't upload files to it. For you to be able to upload files, they'd need to either share the folder with you with edit permissions, or send you a file request. Dropbox has added support for linking to a particular file or folder using a short URL. This means you can quickly share any Dropbox file or folder with a short URL and other people would be able to view your shared files and folders straight from their browser.

If you share a folder with someone, you can decide what permissions they have to your folder. Members of a shared folder can have one of three roles—editor, viewer, or owner.

I'm trying to share a folder when I get a 'this folder can only be shared as a link' message. This has only happened in last week or so and so is it because of an update? For reference, i have always been able to share different folders with different parts of my group and now i can not do this. Need to share folders with a client, but want to make sure they don’t edit the original files inside? With Dropbox file sharing, you can share a view-only link to a file or folder and copy it to an email, text, or chat. The people with whom you share the link of a file or a folder need not have an account on Dropbox to access the file or folder of the link. The people who have the shared link can view the corresponding file or folder, can comment on files/folders, or they can download a copy of the corresponding file and folder.

  • Editor: Any member you give this permission to can add, edit, or delete files in that folder.
  • Viewer: Any member you give this permission to can view and comment on files in a shared folder, but not add, edit, or delete files.
  • Owner: Only one member can be the owner of a folder. The creator of a shared folder is automatically the owner, unless they change the owner to someone else.

How to change a member’s access to a shared folder

To change a member’s access permissions, follow the instructions for your device below.

How

On dropbox.com:

  1. Click All files in the left sidebar.
  2. Hover over the name of the file or folder and click the share icon (person).
  3. Click [x] people have access.
  4. Click the name of the member you want to edit.
  5. Next to the name of that member, click the dropdown and select Can edit or Can view.

Using the Dropbox desktop app:

  1. Right-click the shared folder.
  2. Click Share…
  3. Click the name of the member you want to edit.
  4. Next to the name of that member, click the dropdown and select Can edit or Can view.

Dropbox This Folder Can Only Be Shared As A Link Without

On your phone or tablet:

Dropbox This Folder Can Only Be Shared As A Link Line

  1. Open the Dropbox app.
  2. Find the folder you'd like to share.
    • On Android: Tap the downward arrow.
    • On iOS: Tap '…' (ellipsis) or tap # members under the shared folder name.
  3. Tap Share.
  4. Next to the name of a member, click the dropdown and select Can edit, Can view, or Remove.
  5. If you’re changing permissions on a shared file, you’ll only have the option to Remove a member.
  6. Tap Send.