Dropbox Files Missing

Posted onby admin
Dropbox

Dropbox will keep all your deleted files in Trash for 30 days (or longer, if you have a Dropbox Business account or a Dropbox Pro account with Extended Version History). So, when you permanently deleted your important files or folders, you can try to get them back from Trash on the Dropbox website. By default, the Dropbox folder is located in your user folder. If you moved your Dropbox folder, or if you connected a work and personal, it may be located elsewhere or have a name other than 'Dropbox.' You can programmatically find the folder path through a JSON file.

I can’t see the most recent versions of files in a shared folder

There are a few reasons why you may not see the most recent versions of files in a shared folder. Check each of these situations to see which applies to you:

1. You removed a shared folder from your account

If you delete a shared folder or remove it from your account, you can’t access the folder anymore.

You can check if you deleted a folder on dropbox.com:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click Shared in the left sidebar.
  3. Click the Folders tab at the top of the page.
  4. Locate the folder you deleted and click “” (ellipsis) on the right.
  5. Click Add.

If you have the desktop app installed, the shared folder is automatically downloaded again, even if a previous version of it still exists on your computer. If the older version is in the same location, Dropbox downloads the new version and adds “(1)” to the end of the name. This prevents an issue where two folders have the same name.

If you'd like to change or recover the old name, you can rename the old version to whatever you'd like, then rename the new version.

2. The most recent files are on dropbox.com but not on your computer

If you can see the correct files on dropbox.com, but not in the Dropbox folder on your computer, then:

  • Your computer may not be linked to your Dropbox account
  • The Dropbox app on your computer isn’t running
  • The Dropbox app on your computer syncing correctly

First, check that your computer is linked to this Dropbox account. You can find a list of all your linked devices on dropbox.com.

If your computer is linked to this account, make sure that you can see the Dropbox icon in your taskbar (Windows) or menu bar (Mac). If you can see the Dropbox icon, then the app is running.

If the Dropbox app is running, make sure that your computer is syncing.

3. Files are missing from a shared folder and you didn’t delete them

If you can’t see files that you expect to see in a shared folder, then you may have unintentionally deleted the folder.

Check that the folder you’re looking at is still shared:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click Shared in the left sidebar.
  3. Locate the shared folder.

If the shared folder is gray at the top of the page, you removed the shared folder. You can Add it back to your account from the Shared page.

If the shared folder is active, check if your files are in the shared folder on dropbox.com. If they’re missing, you can recover your files.

4. A shared folder was moved inside another shared folder

If you move a shared folder inside of another folder, your version of the original shared folder is now only a copy. It will no longer sync with the original that was shared with you.

For example: If you move a shared folder, “Folder A,” into another shared folder, “Folder B,” you create a copy of “Folder A” inside “Folder B.”

When you moved “Folder A” into “Folder B,” you lost access to the shared folder “Folder A.” You now have a static copy of “Folder A.” This copy has a snapshot of the files in the folder from the moment you moved it, but they won’t show any changes made in the original shared folder.

Dropbox Files Missing

To regain access to the shared version of your original folder, add the folder back to your account:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click Shared in the left sidebar.
  3. Click the Folders tab at the top of the page.
  4. Locate the folder you moved and click “” (ellipsis) on the right.
  5. Click Add.

When you add the folder back, you can see the latest versions of the files in that folder, including changes made while you weren't a member.

Why Have My Files Disappeared From Dropbox

Note: Changes you made to files in your copy of the folder don’t sync with the active shared folder.

5. You moved a shared folder outside of their Dropbox folder.

If you move a shared folder out of the Dropbox folder on your computer, you delete the folder from your Dropbox account. You can’t see new changes that members make to files in that folder, since it’s no longer in your Dropbox account.

You can add the original shared folder back to your Dropbox account. When you add the folder back, you'll see the latest versions of the files in that folder, including changes made while you weren't a member.

Note: Changes you made to files in your copy of the folder don’t sync with the active shared folder.

Dropbox is a file storing, sync, and backup tool for Windows, Mac, Android, iOS and etc. users. As long as you install the Dropbox application on your computer or devices, every time you 'drop' new files into the Dropbox folder, they will be automatically synced and backed up to the Dropbox server. But what if you accidentally delete a file from the Dropbox folder? Will the deleted file just gone from the server simultaneously? Or have you still got chance to get it back? Being a smart file manager, Dropbox enables you to restore the missing files at ease. Another excellent feature of Dropbox is file sharing. It allows you to share one file to several partners at the same time. And all of them can edit and modify the file online in the share folder. Everyone in the share group will get the updates automatically. However, if one did some wrong modification to the document and saved it, is it possible to restore files to previous versions? Keep on reading the following article and check how to get things done.
  • Part 1Recover Deleted Files with Dropbox
  • Part 2Restore Documents to Previous Versions

Part 1 Recover Deleted Files with Dropbox

1Recover Deleted Files or Folders from Trash Bin
Sign in to the Dropbox website and click into file folders. Hit the trash can icon near the file search browser to display the recent deleted files or folders.
When you found the file or folder you need to retrieve, select and right click it. Then, choose the 'Restore' option in the pop-up panel. Now you can check the file back in the folder stored it before deletion.
Tips:Dropbox login If you want to recover several files or folders at a time, keep pressing the 'shift' (PC) or 'command' (Mac) key as you click to select files or folders.
2Undo Deletion Events to Restore Files or Folders
After you log in Dropbox, hit the 'Events' button at the left-side bar. It shows when you add, delete, modify and share files or folders.
Once you found the deleted file, select and click it. Then, hit the 'Restore this file' button at the top-left to recover the file.
Note: All the deleted files or folders will only be saved in Dropbox website for 30 days. If you own a Dropbox for Business or Dropbox Pro account purchased with Extended Version History, you can restore a deleted file at any time within a year.Dropbox folder missing

Part 2 Restore Documents to Previous Versions

Search for the file in the file Browser. Select the file you need and right-click it. Then, choose 'Previous versions' in the pop-up menu.
Check the version of the file you want to revert to. Select the ratio button at the left of the version and hit the 'Restore' button.

Missing Files In Dropbox


Dropbox is an insanely useful tool helping you backup and restore important files and folders, revert documents to previous versions as well. If you have any question on the use of Dropbox, please feel free to leave it below.

Related Articles

Dropbox Files Missing On Pc